What is the Zodiac?

If you could observe the motion of the Sun against the stars for an entire year, it would appear to trace out a large circle in the sky that we call the "ecliptic". This circle also happens to be the plane of the Earth's orbit around the Sun. The zodiac is a thin band of the sky on either side of the ecliptic. The word "zodiac" literally means "circle of life", since most of the zodiac signs are animals or people.

What are Zodiac Signs?

The zodiac is divided into 12 signs, each 30 degrees long. The cycle of zodiac signs starts with Aries, which begins at the spot on the ecliptic where the Sun is on the first day of spring. These 30 degree sections of the sky are actually blocks of space, not time.

Zodiac signs are often confused in the popular mind with "sun signs". When a person says, "I'm an Aries!", what they're really saying is they were born at a time of the year when the Sun is in the zodiac sign of Aries. Because our calendar is designed to mimic the motions of the Sun around the zodiac, the Sun is in Aries at nearly the same time period each year (roughly March 20th or 21st to April 19th or 20th). Hence the 12 sun signs are like months of a calendar based on the zodiac. They represent time, not space.

The motions of the other planets through the zodiac signs can be quite irregular, compared to the Sun's motion. On average, they range from the fast moving Moon (which spends about 2-1/2 days in each sign) to the slow poke Pluto (roughly 12 to 24 years in each sign).

Why Zodiac/Vedic is best

The great debate whether astrology is a science or not is un-ending. It is not only the best amongst all forms of astrology but can deliver 100 per cent results as well. The science of Astrology originated from the Vedic Scriptures dating back to 6000 years.

Zodiac literally means "circle of life" and pathway of planets. Its origin is derived from the Greek Zodiacus meaning animals or creatures (Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces ). Divided into 12 signs (each 30 degree long). Western astrologers divided Zodiac into 12 equal parts and call them as solar signs. The Indian astrologers have also divided Zodiac into 12 equal parts and call it Vedic astrology because they have further divided these 12 Zodiac sings into 27 equal parts: each measuring 13.20 degrees.

Numerology’s entire calculation is based on nine numbers -- 1 to 9. It also means nine planets of the zodiac. But the future of billions of people cannot simply be decided by nine numbers because it cannot deliver accurate results for each one them without the help of Zodiac/Vedic astrology.

Palmistry means Mounts of Nine Planets of zodiac. It has tremendous pitfalls because the person has to be personally present for consultation for accurate predictions. In fact, palmistry is forbidden in the Vedic astrology.

Tarot is also surrounded by nine planets & twelve signs of Zodiac which is through 78 cards representing in pictorial form a summary of knowledge. Tarot’s first authentic origin also surfaced in 14th century in Italy and not a perfect science.

Lal kitab basically is a combination of Palmistry & Zodiac. Feng Shui, meaning “wind and water”, is an ancient Chinese science. Mrs Kashmira, a leading Feng Shui expert says it cannot do instant miracles and can enhance only one- third of your luck.

The Intuitive vision

The ancient sages or Seers, while in a state of super-consciousness, were exposed to an intuitive vision. The solar and planetary radio-like waves, sent out at various angles, bear influence on everything animate and inanimate. It is interesting to note that whereas medieval Europe still believed that the Earth was stationary, Vedic astronomers of antiquity founded a system which stated that the rising and setting of the planets and the stars were due to the movement of the earth.

Destiny and Deeds

In the words of a Great Sage, “A child is born on that day and that hour when the celestial rays are in mathematical harmony with his individual karma (deed). STARS do not rule our destiny; they merely record our destiny that has already been formed. Deeds (karma) rule destiny. The Vedas place man’s deed (karma) on top for the understanding of Astrology. Reason: A person’s life is also governed by his own deeds despite what the destiny has written for him. It was because of these reasons that the ancient texts written by great Saints suggested different methods or interpretations for resolving the same problem.


Rahukaal June 2022

RAHU KAAL means Bad Time during the day (Avoid doing anything during this brief period)

Panchang July 2022

Panchang July 2022

Sign of the Month : Gemini

Sign of the Month: Gemini

Free Horoscope

Monthly Horoscope for July 2022

Monthly Horoscope for July 2022